I know it’s been a long while since I’ve blogged. Well a lot has happened. So here we go. In March of 2014 I was medically retired from the army for PTSD, mTBI, Arthritis, Bursitis, and tendonitis in my head shoulders knees and toes, Hearing loss, and a few other things. My book “A Warrior’s Garden” released and I wrote and released a workbook that partners with the book. I started and graduated with my Bachelors of Science in Psychology from Lipscomb University. I applied and was accepted for two Masters Programs, Sustainability, and Counseling. I took a one year deferment in order to complete Sustainability first so that I wouldn’t be taking two degrees programs for a Masters at the same time. The book is doing amazing, for those of you who don’t know it is based on using alternative forms of self-therapy for PTSD. There are three main pillars in my concept, Faith, Music, and Gardening, but it is so much more than that. It has been sold in almost all 50 states as far as I know of as well as seven other countries: Canada, Mexico, China, Japan, South Korea, Germany, and Australia.

My wife and I finally took the plunge and purchased our first ever home. It is a four bedroom house on twenty-two acres in Columbia, Tennessee. This launched our farm Honor22Farms and we have lots of chickens and we are hoping to have some cattle and hogs in the next year or two.

In December of 2016 I was invited to travel to China to speak on using small scale organic farming principles. After a few days in Chengdu, China I met several Chinese military combat veterans and learned that they have been in a constant state of war since 2012. It changed my entire focus for being their once I learned of their issue with their version of the VA and how they have no homeless veterans. It inspired me to write A Warrior’s Garden the Chinese Way which will hopefully be out this year.

Adding the Workbook has given me the inspiration to write and launch my own seminar program that teaches the concepts laid out in my book. I wrote my Final research paper on how I would treat PTSD with the inclusion of Technology such as the my PTSD coach app from the VA and integrating therapies such as CBT, CPT, CBCT and STAIR. I believe that we as a group of people with PTSD have to stop trying just one simple thing as a way to treat our PTSD. We need to try something a little more in depth and I believe it starts with adding in a family member, like spouse or loved one, into the treatment. It will be the basis of how I officially pattern my seminar once I graduate with my Masters in counseling.

Well that’s the catch up and plan for the future. Thanks again for continuing to be a part of this crazy ride!

 

God Bless, Strength and Honor!

 

Ralph Malachias Gaskin

15392768_10206499575361967_7560576197344685493_o

