So most days I send out a text message to almost everyone in my phone asking what I can pray for them for that day, and a couple days ago I received a message that I haven’t been able to stop thinking about. “Please pray that I didn’t make a mistake in choosing this job as a career path”, or something to that effect. It made me think really hard. I have been beating myself up for a while now for having chosen to do what I am doing as a Soldier because of the strain it has caused my family. I know we all do this. We give advice to those who ask it but never take our own advice! Yeah, it’s not just you. I am retarded too!

But it made me think a lot about the paths that we as people, Christians, Soldiers, Head of our families and more choose. If it goes wrong, is it truly a mistake? Or is it a lesson learned? I don’t think there are a lot of things in this life that we should consider a mistake, unless of course we don’t learn anything from it. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. So if you or I make a choice, and it doesn’t work out, I feel as long as we learned from it, we then grew as a person! Therefore it isn’t a mistake but a lesson.

My point is this. Just because something doesn’t work out the way we planned, doesn’t equal mistakes made. They are lessons in life that we use to grow. So stop beating yourself up for making a choice that you think didn’t work out, when it actually did. It’s not truly a mistake! So I am no longer going to beat myself up over the choice to re-enter the military which caused two deployments. I ended up with PTSD, and lost 28 months of time with my wife, sons and daughter. Because I know God will heal those wounds. And I know that I am a better person today than I was 7 years ago.

Thanks for reading and stop beating yourself up over the small stuff. God bless you!

205139_145067452227909_100001739647569_273396_3379126_n

